Hamline News

Hipp named MIAC Joe Hutton Player-of-the-Year

It's fitting Hipp (Little Canada, Minn.) is the Joe Hutton Award recipient in 2010-11, as Hamline honored Hutton and nine other Piper standouts this season by dedicating a Row of Honor in Hutton Arena.

Hipp's Player-of-the-Year honor, All-Conference honor and All-Defensive Team selection finish off a stellar career that includes All-MIAC honors in 2010 and 2011, three consecutive years on the All-Defensive Team (2009-2011), an All-Conference Honorable Mention honor in 2009 and a spot on the All-First Year Team in 2008.

Hipp averaged a double-double in MIAC play this season and led the conference in scoring with 18.5 ppg and rebounding with 10.6. He was also tops in blocked shots with 1.95 blocks per game.

Overall, Hipp averaged 17.7 ppg and 11.3 rpg. He totaled 56 blocks for the season. All three of those numbers topped the lists of conference players in total statistics, as well.

Hipp graduates from Hamline as the school record holder in rebounds (905) and blocked shots (242). He is sixth all-time in scoring with 1,565 career points.

Also named to the All-Conference team was guard Mike Campbell (Jr., Burnsville, Minn.). Campbell averaged 14.2 ppg overall and 13.7 ppg in conference play.

Tyler Pannell (Fy., Portland, Ore.) was named to the MIAC All-First Year team. Pannell averaged 6.4 ppg overall and was clutch from outside the arc in the playoff run for the Pipers.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the fifth annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for men's basketball. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

Hamline's representative to the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team is Matt Farb (Jr., St. Cloud, Minn.).