Diversity Initiatives Steering Committee (DISC)

Committee Charge

Hamline University’s strategic plan calls for the university to “become an exemplar in the integration of diversity to achieve and sustain an inclusive environment.” Consistent with our avowed commitment to “inclusive excellence,” diversity initiatives are infused throughout the strategic plan and are manifest in all strategic directions.

The Diversity Initiatives Committee is charged with the principal responsibility for leading, advocating, and coordinating university-wide efforts to realize diversity initiatives and inclusive excellence.


Specifically, the Diversity Initiatives Committee:

  • Provides leadership in advocating and advancing diversity initiatives and inclusive excellence throughout the university community;

  • Advises and consults with the Director of Diversity Initiatives in proposing and coordinating the implementation of diversity initiatives supporting the university’s mission, vision, and strategic plan;

  • Develops plans for ongoing assessment of existing, pending, and proposed diversity initiatives policies, practices, programs, and initiatives, and provides follow-up recommendations based on assessment outcomes.

The Director of Diversity Initiatives (in consultation with the Diversity Initiatives Committee and the Provost) reports quarterly to the President’s Staff and submits an annual report to the President and the University Leadership Team.

Members of the committee may serve up to two years.





Kathy Burleson
College of Liberal Arts Faculty
Member 2013-2015
Claudette Coote-Thompson
Hamline School of Education Faculty
New Member 2014-2017
t. aaron hans
Acting Director of Diversity Initiatives
Ex-Officio Ex-Officio
Steven Dondelinger
Information Technology Staff
New Member 2014-2017
Kimberly Feilmeyer
Bush Library
New Member 2014-2017
Nicola Koh
Creative Writing Student
Graduate/Law Student Representative 2014-2015
Monita Gray
Student Affairs
New Member 2014-2017
Molly Issacson
Institutional Research
New Member 2014-2017
Chris Kipp
International and Off-Campus Programs Staff
1-Year Replacement 2014-2015
Ryan LeCount
College of Liberal Arts Faculty
New Member 2014-2017
Jack Reardon
Hamline School of Business Faculty
New Member 2014-2017
Alice Silkey
Hamline School of Law Faculty
New Member 2014-2017
Carlos D. Sneed
Director of Hedgeman Center
Ex-Officio Ex-Officio
Ken Takata
College of Liberal Arts Faculty
At- Large Member 2013-2016
Sarah Huddlestone
CLA Undergraduate Student
Undergraduate Student Representative 2014-2015