Home Away from Home Alumni House Hamline University’s Alumni House, built in 1971, first served as the parsonage of the Hamline United Methodist Church. Since the fall of 2002, it has been the home on campus for all alumni of Hamline University. The house features display space for Hamline memorabilia, and office, meeting, and reception space. Drew Hall Drew Hall opened in 1947 and was built to house forty male students. Minneapolis attorney Charles M. Drew, a regular contributor to Hamline since the 1930s, made a $300,000 pledge contingent upon Hamline matching it. Construction on the hall began on April 4, 1946 and cost $350,000. Drew Hall became co-ed in 1976 and now houses Drew 67, a classroom that was converted into a small acting/dancing studio, and faculty and administration offices. Manor House Manor House, the oldest residence hall on campus, suggests a scene out of the English Midlands. Built in 1922, with Tudor-style architecture, it boasts a picturesque stone tower and half-timbered construction. Manor, built in conjunction with a new stadium and athletic field, added to the $175,000 building costs that Hamline had at the time. The basement of Manor was renovated in the summer of 1991 and currently holds the offices of Residential Life and Counseling and Health Services. Other recent renovations have improved Manor’s main lounge, restrooms, and study lounges. Sorin Hall Sorin Hall was named after the first two graduates of Hamline University, Elizabeth and Emily Sorin. Built in 1958, the $800,000 structure was initially built for women but was made co-ed in 1984. The dining service is housed on the first floor of the building. The Heights The Heights, a group of three residence halls, occupies the southeast corner of Hamline University adjacent to Manor House. Originally, plans had been made to build seven of these buildings, but only three were actually built. The first hall, named for the trustee Paul Schilling, was dedicated September of 1969. Osborn, the second residence hall, named for Edward B. Osborn, was dedicated January of 1970. The third building went unnamed for a period and was later named for trustee George L. Peterson. The total costs of the buildings were $2,025,000, with $1,665.00 coming from loans from the U.S. Office of Education. Hamline University Apartments The Hamline University Apartments, opened in August 2000, offer students convenient and comfortable on-campus living in a community of law, graduate, and upper class undergraduate students. The amenities of the apartments include: central air conditioning, appliances including dishwashers and garbage disposals, high speed internet access, a card access system for exterior building doors, security cameras, on-site parking, and furniture.